Tags

, , , , , ,

I swear I was 25 just moments ago. The years have gone by at an almost staggering pace. And so far, my favorite decade–the 1990s–is a time I remember with great joy. A song from that era can transport me back to one of the most exciting times of my life. All I need to hear is “On and On” by Erykah Badu or Jamiroquai’s “Virtual Insanity” and I am gone.

Remember Sade’s Love Deluxe, Living Single, Frasier Crane (yes, some black people do like Frasier), and headwraps? At that point in my life, everything seemed possible. I was blessed to go to Europe three times in the 90s (England, France, and Germany) and you can throw in a few whirlwind romances–cue “Have You Ever Loved a Woman?” Somehow in the sobering millennium between responsibilities and the monotony of life after college, I lost zeal and passion for just experiencing the moment and reclined in my life. I was really waiting for something to happen. The man of my dreams did not appear, the dimpled little girl with eyes like my mother’s did not arrive and that dream job seemed a dim possibility with the stagnant pool of activity called “work.” Well, I did not get to have a Jamaican vacation like my sister friend Stella, but I have gotten my GROOVE BACK. Oh, there I go again with a 90s reference. But unlike Stella, this GROOVE is not tied to a relationship. It’s as if a fire has been lit inside of me and people are noticing the brightness. Life is truly happening right now. I am noticing folks are looking at me more, noticing me more. Maybe this is the new 90s for me. I’ll just have to let events play out on the movie screen of my life. And maybe one day I’ll star in my own version of Love Jones.

