Tags

, , , , ,

We all have stress. And we all deal with it differently. But what is really important is how we deal with the problems and stressors in life. I admit I haven’t always been the best at coping with stress. Worrying can be my constant companion. Lately I have been trying to focus on positive things and meditating on the goodness of God. It’s been about retraining my mind and I still have a long way to go to, but I am encouraged that I will become a better me. The other day while I was driving I happened to look in my rear-view mirror while I was sitting at a red light. And then I saw her. She was an attractive blonde in a late model, cream-colored Range Rover. I’ll call her Renee. She was removing her sunglasses, wiping away tears. She put her hair in a quick ponytail and whipped out a cigarette. My heart ached for her and what she may be going through. I picture people knowing Renee as a sophisticated woman who appears to have everything together. I am not a believer of chance or luck. I know I saw Renee for a reason and I just began to pray that she would know true peace, strength and comfort from the Father. And as I prayed for her, a song radiated through my car:

“Look at me
Stressing and things
Worrying about what life cannot fix
Allowing my troubles to take over
Getting my own needle and thread
Forcing the stitch
But it don’t make my dress no prettier
I just seem to make things more confused
I have to just stop and go to the maker
And worry about nothing
Not even my shoes…”  — I’m Prettier by Jill Scott

We can’t find comfort in a pack of cigarettes, a chocolate cake, in a bottle of liquor or any other thing that would dull our senses and makes us feel good for a moment. We have to press through the moment and not let it define us. Taking no thought (Matt. 6:25) seems to go against what we have been taught by others and our stubborn nature as humans. For some reason we have fallen for the lie that if we think on a problem long enough we can fix it by looking at it from all angles, predicting potential outcomes. But we are truly ill-equipped to become our own personal fortune-tellers. Learn to lay it down, take each second as it comes, and maintain a positive focus.

.

