Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today I got some heart-wrenching news. Someone I knew had passed after a brief battle with an illness. I met Gary 10 years ago when I became a member of my church. He was a worship leader and youth pastor there. Gary had such a huge heart for Jesus and it was a norm to find him with arms lifted and tears streaming down his face in adoration and praise of Jesus. He had a beautiful singing voice and was a prolific songwriter for many well-known gospel singers.

He left my church about two years after I joined, but I never forgot him. He’d made such an impression on me and others around him that he was fondly remembered. Three years ago, our paths crossed again through one of his family members. He was a family man with a wife, kids, parents and siblings who clearly adored him. It was so great to see him again and experience his quietly sweet and easy-going spirit. There was such a light about him that emanated from his relationship with Jesus. And it reinforces in me a need to make that type of imprint on the earth. Gary’s short time on earth made an impact that will reverberate throughout the world. I pray that I truly make a change in the world around me.

