Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

When will this be over? Why is this taking so long? Is this the way it will always be? How long until I am just out of this situation? The challenge can be waiting on that dream job, improvement in health, a spouse, a baby or some other new milestone in life. I guess some of my awareness of waiting to get “my turn” started in school. Naturally shy and quiet, I was generally one of the last ones picked or rather “left” after many had been chosen. There I think started my aversion to waiting. Time and patience has been an excellent teacher for me — if only I were always a more willing pupil. There have been things I wanted to happen in my life that took longer than expected, but the joy when it happened was so overwhelming because it didn’t come easy. My level of appreciation was all the more and I had matured enough to be able to treat a rich blessing with the care it deserved.

I worked with a young lady some time ago who was newly married and very excited about her new job and the new life she was planning with her husband. It was nice working with her and all the enthusiasm she brought to the workplace, but not long after there were some major issues at our job and she and I ended up vying for the same position at another company. I was the more experienced of us both. She was definitely not happy that I was picked for the position. It didn’t help things that her husband was out of work. But shortly after I started my job, her husband found a job out of state and she started her own successful business through etsy.com. I couldn’t blame her for being afraid for her future, but there was something even more awesome for her around the corner. Sometimes like it was for my coworker, the wait for a breakthrough is not long, but then there are times when the journey takes longer than expected. And a restlessness sets in. Then you begin to look around and compare your path with others. And it’s just so tempting, isn’t it? But I caution you as well as myself not to linger too long in that thinking. Not everything is as it seems and everyone has their own unique life path. Sometimes a succession of the word “no” means a “yes” to something else much better down the road. It just seems so tempting to just give up and stop hoping, dreaming and praying. It’s so easy to just check out of believing, striving, straining to reach that mark that seems so far away, but while time passes an unseen work is happening.

“Consider it a sheer gift, friends, when tests and challenges come at you from all sides. You know that under pressure, your faith-life is forced into the open and shows its true colors. So don’t try to get out of anything prematurely. Let it do its work so you become mature and well-developed, not deficient in any way…Anyone who meets a testing challenge head-on and manages to stick it out is mighty fortunate. For such persons loyally in love with God, the reward is life and more life.” James 1:2-4, 12 (Message)

Opposition is inevitable and even people you love may say hurtful things, intentional or not. But it doesn’t matter if a friend, family member or significant other doesn’t “get” you, your dream or the hard challenges you are working through. What you feel is real and true and above anyone else, God “gets” you.

“As a father loves and pities his children, so the Lord loves and pities those who fear him [with reverence, worship, awe]. For he knows our frame, He [earnestly] remembers and imprints [on His heart] that we are dust.” Psalm 103:14 (Amplified) 

I can never pretend to have all the answers. I am working this thing out along with everyone else. As I type this, I am seeking to keep my eyes focused on the One who has kept me up to this very moment. Circumstances around me are screaming for my immediate attention as if I can do anything to make them move. But the Author of my life has perfectly ordered every step and He won’t let any moment of my walk go to waste. So let’s hold on and go on to see what is prepared for us.

